April 28, 2025

Board of Trustees Resolution

In Honor and Gratitude to the 2024-2025 Student Trustee Sharla Clemente

Whereas, Sharla Clemente served as the elected Student Trustee on the South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees during the 2024-2025 academic year, representing more than 60,000 students from Saddleback College, Irvine Valley College, and the Advanced Technology and Education Park; and

Whereas, Sharla Clemente was an active student trustee in our district and community, attending campus events, participating in activities and meetings, and recognizing the accomplishments of students, faculty, and staff; and

Whereas, Sharla Clemente remained engaged on both campuses and represented students through advocacy work at various conferences and events and was featured in the district's annual report, the 2nd annual State of the District event, as well as the Orange County Register publication about SOCCCD promoting her story and impact across the district; and

Whereas, Sharla Clemente focused on the strength of the student voice and regularly met with Trustees and district and college leadership, in addition to engaging students on and off-campus; and

Whereas, Sharla Clemente transparently shared her story as a foster youth and inspired students across the district to succeed despite barriers and was respected and admired by fellow students, faculty, staff and administrators for her work as the 2024-2025 Student Trustee; now, therefore,



April 28, 2025 Page 2

Board of Trustees Resolution

In Honor and Gratitude to the 2024-2025 Student Trustee Sharla Clemente

Be it resolved, that the Board of Trustees and Chancellor Barnes of the South Orange County Community College District do hereby recognize, honor, and appreciate the many contributions of Sharla Clemente during her term as Student Trustee.

Be it further resolved, that Sharla Clemente find limitless success in her personal and professional endeavors. On behalf of the South Orange County Community College District, we thank Sharla Clemente for her commitment, dedication, and service.

Carelyn Jumon	Ryan Dack, Vice President
Carolyn Inmon President	Ann A. Rith III
T.J. Prendergast III, Clerk	Lisa A, Bartlett, Member
In tel	Marcia Milchiker
Timothy Jemal, Member	Marcia Milchiker, Member
Terri Rydell, EdD, Member	
And Ason Ba	
Julianna M. Asperin Barnes, EdD, Chancellor	