April 28, 2025

Board of Trustees Resolution

Honoring Sergio Rebia Saddleback College 2025 Associate Faculty of the Year

Whereas, the South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees is proud to recognize faculty whose passion, care, and excellence reflect the core values of the district and its colleges; and

Whereas, Sergio Rebia, Associate Professor of Art, has been named the Saddleback College 2025 Associate Professor of the Year in recognition of his extraordinary dedication to student growth, academic excellence, and inclusive learning; and

Whereas, Professor Rebia is widely regarded as one of the most approachable and supportive educators, consistently fostering an environment in which students feel seen, valued, and empowered to express themselves both artistically and personally; and

Whereas, through his teaching, including his impactful ART 85 course—Professor Rebia has inspired confidence, encouraged creativity, and made even the most reserved students feel welcomed and heard, particularly during online instruction; and

Whereas, his compassion and affirmation have deeply resonated with students from all backgrounds, including those experiencing depression, anxiety, or grappling with identity, offering them a rare sense of belonging and emotional support; and



April 28, 2025 Page 2

Board of Trustees Resolution

Honoring Sergio Rebia

Saddleback College 2025 Associate Faculty of the Year

Whereas, Professor Rebia exemplifies the very best of Saddleback College and the South Orange County Community College District—demonstrating that teaching is not just a profession but a calling, and that a single professor can change a student's life; now, therefore

Be it resolved, that the Board of Trustees of the South Orange County Community College District does hereby commend and congratulate Sergio Rebia on being named the 2025 Associate Professor of the Year and extends its deep appreciation for his unwavering commitment to student success, equity, and inspiration.

Carolyn Inmon, President

Ryan Dack, Vice President

Ryan Dack, Vice President

Lisa A, Bartlett, Member

Timothy Jemat, Member

Marcia Milchiker, Member

Sharla Clemente, Student Member

Sharla Clemente, Student Member