April 28, 2025

Board of Trustees Resolution

Honoring Anthony Szczurek Saddleback College 2025 Full-Time Faculty of the Year

Whereas, the South Orange County Community College District Board of Trustees is dedicated to recognizing faculty who exemplify academic excellence, student-centered learning, and an unwavering commitment to student growth and achievement; and

Whereas, Professor Anthony Szczurek has been named the 2025 Saddleback College Full-Time Faculty of the Year in recognition of his dynamic instruction, compassionate mentorship, and lasting impact on students' lives; and

Whereas, Professor Szczurek exemplifies the highest standards of teaching by consistently prioritizing his students' success and well-being, whether in person or on Zoom, and is widely respected for his accessibility, responsiveness, and encouragement; and

Whereas, his courses, including Honors Political Theory, are praised for fostering intellectual curiosity, lively discussion, and critical engagement with ideas from both Western and non-Western political traditions, helping students analyze society through a broad and inclusive lens; and

Whereas, students describe Professor Szczurek's classroom as a place where academic rigor is balanced with kindness, and where ideas are allowed to flourish in a supportive, respectful, and energizing environment; and



April 28, 2025 Page 2

Board of Trustees Resolution

Honoring Anthony Szczurek Saddleback College 2025 Full-Time Faculty of the Year

Whereas, through his mentorship, Professor Szczurek has inspired students to reevaluate biases, apply for transformative global opportunities such as international study, and push beyond their comfort zones to realize their full academic and personal potential; now, therefore,

Be it resolved, that the Board of Trustees of the South Orange County Community College District does hereby congratulate and commend Professor Anthony Szczurek on being named the 2025 Saddleback College Full-Time Faculty of the Year, and extends its sincere appreciation for his exemplary service, visionary instruction, and enduring impact on the student body.

Carolyn Inmon, President T.J. Prendergast III, Clerk	Ryan Dack, Vice President Lisa A, Bartlett, Member
Timothy Jemat, Member	Marcia Milchiker, Member
Terri Rydell, EdD, Member	Sharla Clemente, Student Member
Julianna M. Asperin Barnes, EdD, Chancellor	