

rd of Frustees Solution

Recognizing Holocaust Remembrance Day

Whereas, the Holocaust was the systematic, state-sponsored persecution and murder of six million Jews and millions of other innocent victims by the Nazi regime and its collaborators during World War II; and

Whereas, Holocaust Remembrance Day, known as Yom HaShoah, is observed as a day of commemoration for the victims and a reaffirmation of the commitment to prevent future genocides and acts of hatred; and

Whereas, remembering the Holocaust reminds us of the profound dangers of hatred, intolerance, discrimination, and totalitarianism, and underscores the importance of promoting human dignity, justice, and respect for all people; and

Whereas, Jewish Americans have made and continue to make significant contributions to the cultural, intellectual, economic, scientific, and civic life of the United States, strengthening the nation's democracy, diversity, and pursuit of justice; and

Whereas, education about the Holocaust fosters understanding, compassion, and vigilance against antisemitism and all forms of bigotry, and aligns with the mission of the South Orange County Community College District (SOCCCD) to cultivate inclusive, informed, and engaged communities; and

Continued on Page 2



Board of Trustees

Recognizing Holocaust Remembrance Day

Whereas, the South Orange County Community College District is committed to honoring the memory of those who perished, supporting survivors, and ensuring that the lessons of the Holocaust are taught to future generations through education, reflection, and community engagement; now, therefore,

Be it resolved, that the Board of Trustees of the South Orange County Community College District hereby recognizes April 24, 2025, as Holocaust Remembrance Day; and

Be it further resolved, that the District calls upon students, faculty, staff, and community members to observe this solemn day with appropriate educational programs, acts of remembrance, and renewed dedication to confronting hatred wherever it may exist.

Carolyn Inmon, President Prendergast III, Clerk Timothy Jemal, Member

erri Rydell, EdD, Memb

Inlianna M. Asperin Barnes, EdD, Chancellor

Ryan Dack, Vice President

Lisa A, Bartlett, Member

Sharla Clemente, Student Member