2100

SOUTH ORANGE COUNTY COMMUNITY COLLEGE DISTRICT **BOARD OF TRUSTEES** 

## **BOARD ELECTIONS**

The term of office of each trustee shall be four years, commencing on the second Friday of December following the election. Elections shall be held every two years, in even numbered years. Terms of trustees are staggered so that, as nearly as practicable, one-half of the trustees shall be elected at each trustee election. Trustees shall be elected by the respective trustee area that they have legal residence within. There are seven (7) trustee areas as shown below:

- Area 1: Irvine\* and Tustin\*
- Area 2: Irvine\*, Orange\*, Tustin\* and unincorporated county areas of North Tustin\* and Santa Ana\*
- Area 3: Aliso Viejo\*, Dana Point\*, Irvine\*, Laguna Beach\*, Laguna Niguel\*, and Newport Beach\*
- Area 4: Dana Point\*, Rancho Santa Margarita\*, San Clemente\*, San Juan Capistrano, and unincorporated county areas of Coto de Caza, Ladera Ranch\*, Rancho Mission Viejo, and Trabuco Canyon\*
- Area 5: Irvine\*, Laguna Hills\*, Laguna Woods\*, Lake Forest\*, and Mission Viejo\*
- Area 6: Aliso Viejo\*, Irvine\*, Laguna Beach\*, Laguna Hills\*, Laguna Woods\*, Lake Forest\*, Mission Viejo\* and unincorporated county area of Trabuco Canyon\*
- Area 7: Laguna Niguel\*, Mission Viejo\*, Rancho Santa Margarita\*, and unincorporated county areas of Ladera Ranch\* and Las Flores

The trustee area boundary map is available at the District Office and on the District website.

The Chancellor shall submit recommendations to the Board of Trustees regarding adjustments to be made to the boundaries of each trustee area, if any adjustment is necessary, after each decennial federal census. The Chancellor shall submit the recommendation in time for the Board to act as required by law.

## Reference:

Education Code Sections 5000 et seq., 72036

Adopted: 08-27-07 Revised: 10-17-22 Page 1 of 1

Revised: 04-29-13 Revised: 01-21-20

<sup>\*</sup> Not entire city/community